The meaning of chakras – an introduction

What are the seven chakras ?

The relationship between chakras as energy centres in the body and our emotional and physical wellbeing represents the core approach when we consider holistic healing.

Chakras are subtle energy centres in the human body. We have seven main chakras and a number of secondary chakras that are associated with the body’s organs and also endocrine and lymphatic system.

When chakras are in balance a person is in good emotional and physical health. Physical and mental health issues and dis-ease manifest in the body when a chakra or more chakras become imbalanced. If imbalances are not addressed early or they were developed under a long period of time or even during childhood, chakras can become blocked and determine more serious issues such as severe health problems or a general feeling in some people that are stuck in their lives.

But what are the 7 chakras and how do they relate to our emotional balance?

Root Chakra meaning

The Root Chakra – also called The Base Chakra or Muladhara – is located at the base of the spine in the pelvic area. It is represented by the colour red and is resposible for a sense of grounding, security, survical, practical life and basic needs such as shelter, food, sex.

A root chakra that is underactive can manifest in unsecurity, codependency, depression, low or no boundaries, lack of energy and anxiety. On the other side an overactive root chakra can manifest in being too materialistic, a need for control, resistance to change and agresivity.

Associated organs are the large intestine and colon, adrenal glands and bladder.

Element: Earth

Special attention needs to be paid when working on the root chakra as this is a chakra where people also store past trauma in theor bodies and most of mental health issues such as depression and anxiety are a manifestation of a root chakra imbalance.

Sacral Chakra meaning

Sacral Chakra is located on the lower abdomen, just below the navel and is represented by the colour Orange. It is the centre of your creativity, sexuality, emotions and empathy, ability to enjoy life and explore the world, relationships, and social contact and also sexual expression.

An underactive sacral chakra leads to a person to feel disconnected with own emotions, being closed off, potential lack of self-esteem or self-worth, pessimism or depression, sexual shame and creativity blocks. An overactive sacrat chakra manifests in being overemotional, moody, dramatic, neediness and sexual addictions.

Organs associated are: reproductive organs, sex organs, kidneys

Element : Water

Solar Plexus Chakra meaning

Solar Plexus Chakra is located below the ribcage and is represented by the colour yellow. It is your power centre, representing wisdom, self confidence, personal power, willpower, self-esteem, assertiveness, control of your behaviours and actions, rationality.

An underactive solar plexus chakra leads to passivity, indecisiveness, lack of self-control, low self-esteem, people pleasing behaviours and a victim mentality. When overactive, a person can be judgmental, critical, controlling, grandious and putting other people down.

Organs that are associated with solar plexus are: stomach, pancreas, liver, spleen.

Element: Fire 

Heart Chakra meaning

Heart Chakra is located at the center of the chest in your heart area and is represented by the colour green. Heart chakra is all about love, nurturing relationships, compassion, kindness, forgiveness, balance and healing.

If the heart chakra is underactive a person is emotionally distant, not opening up to others, lonely, feeling unloved, unable to forgive. If overactive a person experiences enmeshment in relationships ( with no sense of self), possessive, jealous.

Associated organs are the heart and lungs.

Element: Air

Throat chakra meaning

Throat Chakra is located in your throat area and is associated with the colour blue, light blue or turquoise. It is your communication and authenticity centre and it relates with your ability to express who you are, communicate and listen clearly.

If throat chakra is underactive: it manifests in shyness, inability to express your own needs or personal views, inability to stand up for yourself, forgetful. If is overactive on the other side is manifested as inability to listen to others, being critical, over-analyzing, avoiding vulnerability, not being honest.

Associated organs are: thyroid, mouth, jaw, teeth, ears

Element: Hearing

Third eye chakra meaning

Third Eye Chakra is located in between your eyebrows and is represented by the colour indigo and purple. Third eye chakra is your intuition centre and symbolises awareness, perception, intuition, knowledge, mental clarity, vision, wisdom.

If the third eye is underactive it manifests in rigid thinking, relying too much on external resources and judgement rather than your own, disconnected with your own intuition, and inability to imagine or visualise things. If this chakra is overactive it manifests in overactive imagination, living in a fantasy world, lacks judgment and inability to focus.

Organs associated are the brain and eyes

Element: Spirit

Crown chakra meaning

Crown Chakra is located above the top of the head and it is represented by the colour violet or white. It is the centre of your spirituality, representing the connection with the Universe, intuition and inspiration. It is responsible with a sense of peace and serenity, feeling connected with Spirit and it is also related to your transformational journey.

An underactive crown chakra manifests in lack of meaning in life, no spirituality, and feeling disconnected from self and others, excessive materialistic, selfishness and inability to see the bigger picture. An overactive crown chakra manifests in addiction to spirituality, ignorance of reality and physical needs and obsessive thoughts.

Associated organs are: central nervous system and pituitary gland

Element: Spirit

The role of chakras in emotional wellbeing is crucial from an energetic point of view. Everyone of us experiences some sort of chakra imbalance, as we are in an ongoing process of learning, evolution and transformation and we are human beings. When these imbalances become more severe, the energy doesn’t flow properly in the body and this is how dis-ease and blockages manifest.

Until next time,

Many blessings,


Scroll to Top